Message from the Chair


Welcome aboard! It is wheels up for another exhilarating year.

I’m Bruce Marshall, Chair of the Aviation Law Section for 2018-2019, and looking forward to seeing each of you at one of the great events that we have planned for this year.
Last year’s fall CLE program is already on its way to becoming an annual event for our Section as arrangements are being made for another half-day program on Friday, November 9, 2018 in San Antonio. Further details will be coming soon. And of course, we will continue to offer great CLE speakers and networking opportunities at our meeting in conjunction with the SMU Air Law Symposium in the spring and the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting in Austin in June!

Led by Jad Stepp of Houston and with significant contributions by David Norton from Dallas, our Section committee has made great progress this past year in making board certification in the specialty area of Aviation Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization (TBLS) a reality for all of us. If you are interested in being a part of this momentous project, let me know.

We are now opening up our scholarship program to all students in Texas law schools engaged in aviation related classwork or other programs. Further details on our new program will be coming soon from our Scholarship committee led by Section Vice Chair Andrea Palmer and assisted by Council Members Pam Hicks and Wayne Fagen.

Finally, if you have any ideas to share or would like to become involved in any Section activities, please don’t hesitate to call or email me.

Looking forward to seeing you in November,

Bruce L. Marshall
Chair, Aviation Law Section
State Bar of Texas 2018-2019